Reshelfle

After cleansing my home of Christmas, it was time to get my home in order. As told a post or two ago {HERE}, I have bookshelves that act as the focal point of my current living room. After moving around trinkets to make room for Christmas decor, I decided it was a great time to reshuffle the shelves and better organize my trinkets.

Bookbefore

To get started, I did my research. Over to pinterest I went in search of ‘how-to’ pins from other who had successfully completed their bookshelf revamp. I found {this}, {this} and {this} article to be helpful in getting me started.

I began my refresh by removing everything from the shelves for good scrub. As this is a rental, I knew I wasn’t going to invest in repainting the shelves and walls so I used a cleaner with bleach to get everything looking as clean and crisp as possible. Note to self: use gloves when cleaning with bleach especially after a fresh mani!!

With all items removed, I then organized my stuff by category (i.e. picture frames, trinkets, books, ect…) keeping like colors together. I analyzed items I knew were to be kept and stored others I decided to no longer display. Now time to organize! Per my research, I started with large items and books.

Once I had a few items in place, I began playing around with other items while trying to keep things in groups of three. I would place items – step away – then rearrange until I felt I had a collective mix of item and color.

Although everything isn’t perfect, this will hold me over until the possible move (tidbit mentioned {here} but more deets to come!)

after

Can you tell the difference? Besides smelling fresh and clean the shelves now feel less cluttered and will be easier to keep clean; not to mention, every trinket and photo displayed are now meaningful.

What’s your first ‘clean up’ project of the new year? Leave a comment!

XO

AMS

Leave a Reply

